Readathon Wrap-Up: Madeleine

I read or listened to a book pretty much straight through the day until somewhere in Hour 18, though I slowed down after about Hour 12. Due to rain/thunder/hungry cats used to being fed at 5:30AM, I woke up and read for the very last hour of the challenge too!

In total, I finished three books, made progress on three books, and didn’t even touch the remaining five books in my stack. I read a total of 1,253 pages and listened to 1 hour and 56 minutes of my audiobook.

Finished Books

  • Hullabaloo in the Guava Orchard. 3 Stars. 209 pages
  • The Wrath & The Dawn. 4 Stars. 404 pages
  • The Complete Persepolis. 5 stars. 341 pages

Progress Made

  • The Happiness Project. 164 of 289 pages
  • Yes Please. 135 of 329 pages
  • Armada. 1 hour, 56 minutes of 11 hours, 58 minutes

Not Read

  • 4:50 From Paddington
  • Midnight Riot
  • Gone Girl
  • I’ll Give You the Sun
  • Illustrated Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

Snacks, Social Media, and Mini-Challenges

I made this easy crockpot springtime minestrone soup and it was delicious. Also, shoutout to my roommate-sister Brenna, who felt inspired to make no-bake chocolate cookies, which was yummy surprise. She also kept me on track, drill sergeant-like. “Are you reading? You’re not going to get your page count up if you’re looking at GoodReads!”

The mini-challenges and social media were nice, because they made it feel like a group event, and not just me sitting in my apartment reading as much as possible all day.

In short, I’m really glad I participated. I’ve been jealously watching this happen over the last few years while I was in grad school. I’m glad to have been a part. Readathon also has me in the book blogging mood, so perhaps I’ll work on posting more consistently here.

Looking forward to October!

 

Leave a Reply

