Book Madness Villanova completely screwed up my chances at winning my NCAA office pool this year, so books! I took part in Out of Print Clothing’s bracket last year, which was definitely more fun because you got to pit literary characters against each other! Having this year’s theme of classics was made extra difficult by matching children’s books with great literary works. I wish they would have done the seeding a little differently, especially since there were some regions that were hella-strong and other instances where both contenders would be easily knocked-out by someone who only made it to round one in their match up. For example, Harold and the Purple Crayon only made it to round three because of my utter hatred of all things Vonnegut where as The Great Gatsby and Huck Finn could both have beaten a ton of others if they hadn’t been up against each other so early. Such is life, I suppose. By the by, I own two book cover t-shirts from Out of Print and guess who was paired up?

The favorite of my potential match-ups are:

  • Where the Wild Things Are vs. Lord of the Flies aka “The Isle of Craziness”
  • The Catcher in the Rye vs. Hamlet – the battle of the mopey teens

In the final four I have Jane Eyre vs. The Bell Jar and The Outsiders vs. Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, with The Bell Jar and The Outsiders advancing to the finals. The Outsiders is great (Stay gold, Ponyboy!), but The Bell Jar is one of my favorite books of all time, so I had to choose it as the winner.

Madeleine’s bracket is way different than mine (her champion was knocked out in my first round) so it’ll be interesting to see how the rest of the voting goes. May the madness begin!

*Let it be known that I have not read a surprising number of these books. Maybe next year’s reading challenge?

4 thoughts on “Book Madness 2015 (Nox)

    1. Nox Book Owl Post author

      Those were mostly guesses! I’ve only read 1/4 of the books in the NY Public Library “region.”

      Reply
  1. Pingback: Book Madness 2015 : Brackets for everyone! | The Book Owls

  2. Pingback: Book Madness Update | The Book Owls

Leave a Reply

