Top Ten Tuesday: 2014 Releases I Meant to Read But Didn’t Get To

Top Ten Tuesday

I’m trying something new this week and participating in Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Every week, book bloggers put together their Top Ten list around a common theme. This week is “Top Ten 2014 Releases I Meant to Read But Didn’t Get To.” I initially thought this was going to be a hard one to think of ten, until I perused my GoodReads to-read list and was reminded of all the great books I haven’t had a chance to read yet.

The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell

The Bone Clocks definitely belongs at the top of this list, because I tried really hard to read it. I’ve gone through three or four rounds on the library hold list and missed picking it up or had it come in during a particularly busy time. I loved Cloud Atlas, so I can’t wait to actually read this one.

Of Scars and Stardust by Andrea Hannah

Wolves. A missing sister. Snow. Tragic pasts. Hallucinations. Count me in for this YA book.

Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley

Two girls on opposite sides of the Civil Rights Movement are forced to work together on a class project. I’ve had my eye on this one ever since Zelda reviewed it.

Lagoon by Nnedi Okorafor

Aliens land in Lagos, Nigeria, and three people must race to save their country. The blurb on GoodReads promises me the story includes “everything from superhero comics to Nigerian mythology to tie together a story about a city consuming itself.” I haven’t read this one yet, because it hasn’t been published in the US. I did recently get a copy through interlibrary loan, though!

The Tale of the Dueling Neurosurgeons by Sam Kean

The Violinist’s Thumb was one my favorite non-fiction reads. The same author (Sam Kean) is back with this popular science book about neuroscience.

Evergreen by Rebecca Rasmussen

Siblings grow up separated, until the older brother brings his sister home to try to reconnect. Set in the Minnesota wilderness.

Yes, Please by Amy Poehler

A book by Amy Poehler? Yes, please!

The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North

Whenever Harry August dies, he is reborn into the same life with his memories intact. He eventually finds the Cronus Club, a group of people who also die and are reborn. They have rules (no changing history, etc.), but then someone begins to mess with time and history.

The Wonder of All Things by Jason Mott

A young girl, Ava, has the ability to heal people. When this is discovered, people begin flocking to Ava for healing. But the ability comes at a cost to her own health…

How to Tell Toledo from the Night Sky by Lydia Netzer

Astronomy. Religion. Cosmology. Fate. This one got a bit of buzz earlier this year, and then seemed to vanish. Besides the concept and catchy title, I also really love cover on this one.

What about you? What new books from 2014 are still on your to-read list?

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 2014 Releases I Meant to Read But Didn’t Get To

  1. Nox Book Owl

    I only got to read 2 of these, but they were both sooooo good! I highly recommend both The Bone Clocks and The Tale of the Dueling Neurosurgeons.

    Reply
  2. miss amy

    Loved Harry August and Lies We Tell Ourselves. The latter is my favourite YA novel of the year. I’d love to hear your thoughts on both of them when you get to them!

    Reply
    1. Madeleine Book Owl Post author

      Definitely! I was disappointed I didn’t get to read Harry August OR Vicious in class this summer. Now I have to go back and read them on my own. And I’ve heard a lot of great things about Lies We Tell Ourselves…

      Reply
  3. caitlinstern

    If you enjoyed Cloud Atlas, you should love Bone Clocks. It’s got that same odd, complicated, interweaving character interaction, overlapping over a long stretch of time.

    There’s always more books than time, right?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

